DLC - Applications 1

Drive Components | Bearing Technology
Primary task of the DLC coating is the reduction of friction and wear, whereby also the uncoated friction partners are protected. The layer becomes especially effective in the un-lubricated operation or during the lack of lubrication. The latter case may occur when elements are operated at high pressing pressures of some 10 MPa resulting in an incomplete oil film. The employment of diamond-like carbon SilCor® is also meaningful for operating components under vacuum conditions.
Guiding Devices | Transportation Devices
An additionally positive aspect of the DLC coating is here the corrosion protection of dry or in aggressive environment running systems: Unalloyed or low alloyed steel (often with a higher firmness and hardness) instead of stainless steel can be used without loss at value in use. The wear protection by diamond like carbon becomes straight with the processing of paper, pasteboard, cellulose or fleece evidently, where large quantities abrasive material often times to the replacement of the loaded components lead.
Führungsstangen Gleitlager
Medical Technology | Pharmacy
Surgical instruments, which are coated with diamond like carbon, can be sterilized in the best way by heat, UV-radiation, acids and caustic solutions. The hydrophobe, smooth and dense DLC layer reduces the setting of germs. A clearly visible marking of the surgical instruments takes place via laser engravings.
Measuring Instrument | Inspection Devices
High-quality gauges are subject to a steady wear. The advantage of a coating with SilCor® DLC is the clearly improved life span, the deposition of an exactly defined layer thickness and the small temperature during the coating process, which guarantees the accuracy to size of the inspection devices. The visual inspection of the gauges for abrasion is straight - the vanishing layer indicates the falling below of the tolerance measure.

DLC Anwendungen 1

Antriebselemente | Lagertechnik
Primäre Aufgabe der DLC Beschichtung ist die Reduzierung von Reibung und Verschleiß, wobei auch die unbeschichteten Reibpartner geschützt werden. Besonders wirkungsvoll wird die Schicht im Trockenlauf oder bei Mangelschmierung. Gerade bei hohen Anpressdrücken im Bereich ab einiger 10 MPa erfolgt eine unzureichende Schmierung der Elemente, da der Ölfilm zwischen den Reibpartnern durch die Pressung abreißt. Ebenso sinnvoll ist der Einsatz des diamantähnlichen Kohlenstoffs in Vakuumsystemen.
Führungselemente | Transporttechnik
Zusätzlich positive Aspekte der DLC Schicht ist hier der Korrosionsschutz von trocken laufenden Systemen oder bei aggressiver Umgebung: Es können ohne Verlust an Gebrauchswert unlegierte oder niedrig legierte Stähle (oft mit einer höheren Festigkeit und Härte) eingesetzt werden. Der Verschleißschutz durch diamond-like carbon wird gerade bei der Verarbeitung von Papier, Pappe, Zellstoff oder Vlies evident, wo große Mengen abrasiven Materials oftmalig zum Auswechseln der belasteten Komponenten führen.
Führungsstangen Gleitlager
Medizintechnik | Pharmazie
Chirurgische Instrumente, die mit diamond-like carbon beschichtet sind, können bestens durch Hitze, UV-Strahlung, Säuren und Laugen sterilisiert werden. Die hydrophobe, glatte und geschlossene DLC Schicht reduziert das Ansetzen von Keimen. Eine deutlich sichtbare Kennzeichnung der chirurgischen Instrumente erfolgt durch Lasergravuren.
Messmittel | Prüfmittel
Hochwertige Lehren unterliegen einem beständigen Verschleiß. Der Vorteil einer Beschichtung mit SilCor® DLC ist die deutlich verbesserte Lebensdauer, der Auftrag einer genau definierten Schichtdicke und die geringe Temperatur während des Beschichtungsprozesses, welche die Maßhaltigkeit der Prüfmittel garantiert. Die visuelle Prüfung der Lehren auf eventuellen Abrieb der schwarzen Schicht und die resultierende Unterschreitung des Toleranzmaßes ist zudem die billigste Alternative zur Kalibrierung.