DLC - Applications 2

Valves | Fittings | Seal Elements | Chemical Industry
For these applications the high chemical inertness of the DLC coating is useful. Extreme environmental conditions like hot acid vapors are able to quickly destroy even highly alloyed steel. Valve balls, valve seats, flaps or slidegate valves need smaller moving forces, which leads to smaller dimensions of the drives because of the reduced friction by the SilCor® DLC layer. Also axial face seals profit from the small friction value and the high hardness of the diamond-like layer.
Design: Decoration and Consumer Durable Goods
Watch cases or rings with polished surfaces and a SilCor® diamond-like carbon layer appear reflecting, shining black. The endurable black coating underlines the high value and the noble appearance of the product. The biocompatible DLC coating prevents allergic reactions, which can result in particular from intensive skin contact with different metals. Electric shaver components, knifes and shears keep its value in use a multiple longer owing to the DLC.
Kugel Razor
Automobile industry
Because of its excellent properties diamond-like carbon is suitable for a multiplicity of automobile applications. However, the high-quality DLC coatings are used only for a few applications - for example fuel injection systems. The reason for this is the relatively high costs, which still hinder several applications for automotive mass-market applications. SilCor® DLC layers are already used in different components for car racing (Formula 1, German DTM Championship). The coating is applied to tappets, steering gear racks, springs, pistons and others.
Tools
A broad variety of primary shaping tools, forming tools and cutting tools are coated with diamond-like coatings. Principal purpose is mostly the prevention of material adhesions (DLC as non-adhesive layer) in combination with abrasion protection. The materials in contact with these tools are typically plastic melts (injection molding) and powders (e. g. tablet compacting) in the field of primary shaping and light metals (e. g. aluminum) in the fields of forming and cutting.

DLC Anwendungen 2

Armaturentechnik | Dichtungselemente | Chemietechnik
Im Vordergrund steht hier oft die hohe chemische Inertheit der DLC Beschichtung auch in extremer Umgebung wie hunderte Grad heißen Säuredämpfen, die selbst hoch legierte Stähle schnell schädigen. Ventilkugeln, Ventilsitze, Klappen oder Schieber benötigen wegen der reduzierten Reibkäfte durch die SilCor® DLC Schicht deutlich geringere Kräfte, was zu geringeren Dimensionen der Antriebe führt. Auch Gleitringdichtungen profitieren vom geringen Reibwert und der hohen Härte der diamantartigen Schicht.
Design: Schmuck und Gebrauchsgüter
Uhrengehäuse oder Ringe mit polierten Oberflächen und einer SilCor® DLC Schicht strahlen mit ihrem schwarzen Glanz eine sehr hohe Wertigkeit aus, die über viele Jahre erhalten bleibt. Die bioverträgliche Beschichtung aus diamantähnlichem Kohlenstoff verhindert zudem allergische Reaktionen, die insbesondere durch intensiven Hautkontakt mit verschiedenen Metallen entstehen können. Trockenrasierer, Messer und Scheren behalten ihren Gebrauchswert ein Vielfaches länger dank des DLC.
Kugel Razor
Automobilindustrie
Wegen seiner vorzüglichen Eigenschaften eignet sich der diamantähnliche Kohlenstoff für eine Vielzahl automobiler Anwendungen. Allerdings werden an die Qualität der Beschichtung so hohe Forderungen gestellt, daß nur SilCor® DLC und wenige andere Schichten sie erfüllen. Diese Qualität hat noch immer einen so hohen Preis, dass viele der hochvolumigen Anwendungen noch nicht realisiert sind. SilCor® DLC Schichten werden schon in verschiedenen Komponenten des automobilen Rennsports (Formel 1, Deutsche Tourenwagen Meisterschaft) eingesetzt. Es werden Stößel, Lenkzahnstangen, Federn, Kolben u. a. m. beschichtet.
Werkzeuge
Eine breite Palette von Urformwerkzeugen, Umformwerkzeugen und Zerspanungswerkzeugen werden mit diamantähnlichen Schichten versehen. Hauptziel ist zumeist die Verhinderung von Anhaftungen (DLC als Antihaftschicht) und danach der Verschleißschutz. Die verarbeiteten Materialien sind Plastikschmelzen (Spritzguß) und Pulver (Tabletten) beim Urformen und Leichtmetallen beim Umformen und Zerspanen.