The Technology Sputter-Deposition

History of Sputtering
The effect of cathodic sputtering was first described in 1852 by the English physicist Grove. In the sixties of the last century very extensive basic physical investigations of this phenomenon were carried out. After several years, these resulted in an independent branch of thin film technology. Today the deposition of thin films by means of sputtering is a firm component of many production processes. Important operational areas of the sputtering technology are optics (e.g. architectural glass, reflectors, lenses), optoelectronics (solar cells, photodiodes, liquid crystal displays - LCD), electronics (e.g. microchips,), the memory technology (e.g. laser discs, magneto-optical media), the surface protection (tools, machine parts) or the barrier technology (diffusion barriers for example in flexible packing). The terms sputtering, sputtered films, sputter PVD or sputter coating are usual synonyms for this technology.
The physical mechanism of sputtering
Left side illustration: The ions of the plasma (commonly of the noble gas argon) hit the negatively biased cathode (also referred to as target) with a high energy. There they collide first with an atom of the cathode material (primary collision). As is the case for the first break of a billiard game, the knocked atom transfers its momentum to the neighboring atoms of the cathode (secondary collisions). By the following further collisions, a so-called collision cascade develops. This leads under reversal of the original momentum direction to the emission of near surface atoms (sputter ejection). These sputtered atoms are the source of the film growing film. Two other effects influence the film growth. A part of the argon ions is reflected (dependent on the atomic mass of the target) in the form of atoms. During the transformation of the incident ions into atoms (recombination) secondary electrons are generated, which contribute to the preservation of the plasma.



sputtering principle               transport principle
The transport of sputtered atoms
Right side illustration: The sputtered atoms possess a preferred direction perpendicularly to the target surface. They are of a high kinetic energy according to velocities between some km/s up to some 10 km/s. For the case of low pressures (or small distances between target and workpiece), the atoms reach the growing film without collisions with argon atoms of the sputtering atmosphere. They remain their initial high energy, what is referred to as “ballistic transport”. For high pressures (and large distances) the atoms suffer a multiplicity of collisions and are completely slowed down (“thermalized”). Their “memory” of the original flight direction is lost and they spread out evenly into all directions in space (diffusive transport). Therefore, the product of pressure and distance possesses a substantial influence on the characteristics of sputtered films.
magnetron principle
Technical realization: Magnetrons
The use of sputtering for technical applications becomes only possible by means of sputter magnetrons (also referred to as magnetron source or briefly magnetron). In the simplest case of the planar circular magnetron, a central magnet is connected with a ring magnet by a yoke. The target has the shape of a circular disk. The magnetic field above the target develops in form of a half torus (similar a cut open donut). In this magnetic field the secondary electrons (blue) are caught generating ions (grey) and thus the plasma.
magnetron plasma frontview             magnetron plasma sideview

Left side: Photograph of a magnetron discharge in Argon atmosphere taken perpendicular to the target surface.

Right side: Photograph of a magnetron discharge in Nitrogen atmosphere taken under oblique angle to the target surface.



Due to the effect of the magnetron, the deposition rate increases (as a function of the target material) to values up to some 10 µm per hour. The pressure of the sputtering process can be lowered down to some hundredths of Pascal (Pa). As targets all elements and especially metals and semiconductors are suitable. It is also possible to use chemical compounds as oxides, nitrides or carbides for targets. By addition of gases as, e.g. Oxygen or Nitrogen to the sputtering atmosphere, these compounds can also deposited by means of elemental targets. The latter process is referred to as reactive sputtering.

Technologie Sputter-Deposition

Sputtern - Historie
Der Effekt der so genannten Kathodenzerstäubung (auch Katodenzerstäubung, englisch sputtering und eingedeutscht Sputtern) wurde erstmalig 1852 vom englischen Physiker Grove beschrieben. In den sechziger Jahren des letzten Jahrhunderts erfolgten sehr umfangreiche physikalische Untersuchungen dieses Phänomens, die in den siebziger Jahren in die eigenständige Technologie dünner Schichten Eingang fanden. Heute ist die Beschichtung mittels Sputtern ein fester Bestandteil vieler Produktionsprozesse. Wichtige Einsatzgebiete der Sputtertechnologie sind die Optik (z.B. Architekturglas, Reflektoren, Linsen), die Optoelektronik (Solarzellen, Photodioden), die Elektronik (z. B. Mikrochips, Flüssigkristall-Displays LCD), die Speichertechnik (z. B. Laserdisk, MO-Medien), der Oberflächenschutz (Werkzeuge, Maschinenteile) oder die Barrieretechnik (Diffusionsbarrieren z. B. in flexiblen Verpackungen). Die Begriffe Sputterschichten, Sputtern, gesputterte Schichten, Sputter-PVD oder Sputterbeschichten sind gängige Synonyme für das Verfahren.
Sputtern - Mechanismus
Linke Abbildung: Die im Plasma vorhandenen Ionen (zumeist des Edelgases Argon) treffen mit hoher Energie auf die negativem vorgespannte Kathode (englische Bezeichnung Target). Dort stoßen sie zunächst auf ein Atom des Kathodenmaterials (Primärstoß). Wie bei dem Eröffnungsstoß eines Billardspiels gibt das angestoßene Atom jetzt seinen Impuls an seine Nachbaratome der Kathode weiter (Sekundärstöße). Durch die nachfolgenden weiteren Stöße entwickelt sich im Atomgitter eine so genannte Stoßkaskade, die unter Umkehrung des ursprünglichen Impulses zur Emission oberflächennaher Atome führt (sputter-ejection). Diese gesputterten (oder gestäubten) Atome bilden die Bausteine für die wachsende Schicht. Für das Wachstum der Schicht sind noch zwei weitere Effekte bedeutsam. Ein Teil der Argon-Ionen wird (abhängig von der atomaren Masse des Targets) in Form von Atomen reflektiert. Bei der Umwandlung der einfallenden Ionen in Atome (Rekombination) entstehen sekundäre Elektronen, die zur Erhaltung des Plasmas beitragen.



sputtering principle               transport principle
Sputtern - Transport
Rechte Abbildung: Die gesputterten Atome besitzen eine Vorzugsrichtung senkrecht zur Targetoberfläche und treten mit typischen Geschwindigkeiten von einigen km/s bis zu einigen 10 km/s aus. Für den Fall kleiner Drücke (kleiner Abstände zwischen Target und Werkstück) treffen die Atome ohne zwischenzeitliche Kollision mit Argonatomen der Sputteratmosphäre auf das Werkstück (Ballistischer Transport), wobei ihre ursprüngliche hohe Energie erhalten bleibt. Für große Drücke (und große Abstände) erleiden die gestäubten Atome eine Vielzahl von Kollisionen und werden vollständig abgebremst (thermalisiert). Ihre "Erinnerung" an die ursprüngliche Flugrichtung geht verloren und sie breiten sich gleichmäßig in alle Raumrichtungen aus (diffusiver Transport). Deshalb besitzt das Produkt aus Druck und Abstand einen wesentlichen Einfluss auf die Eigenschaften von Sputterschichten.
magnetron principle
Technische Realisierung: Magnetrons
Der Nutzung des Sputterns für technische Anwendungen wird erst durch den Einsatz von Sputter-Magnetrons (auch Magnetronquelle oder kurz Magnetron) möglich. Im einfachsten Fall des planaren Zirkularmagnetrons wird dabei ein Zentralmagnet über ein Joch mit einem Ringmagneten verbunden, das Target ist als Kreisscheibe ausgeführt. Über dem Target entsteht damit ein Magnetfeld in Form eines Halbtorus (ähnlich einem aufgeschnittenen Donut). In diesem Magnetfeld werden die sekundären Elektronen (blau) und Ionen (grau) und damit das Plasma eingefangen.
magnetron plasma frontview             magnetron plasma sideview

Links: Foto einer Magnetronentladung in Argon. Das Magnetron befindet sich in einem Flansch und die Blickrichtung ist senkrecht zum Target.

Rechts: Schräge Ansicht einer Magnetronentladung in Stickstoffatmosphäre.



Durch den Magnetroneffekt steigt die Beschichtungsrate beim Sputtern (in Abhängigkeit vom Targetmaterial) auf Werte bis zu einigen 10 µm pro Stunde. Der Druck bei der Sputterbeschichtung kann bis auf einige Hundertstel Pascal (Pa) gesenkt werden. Als Target eignen sich prinzipiell alle Elemente (besonders Metalle und Halbleiter) und auch chemische Verbindungen wie Oxide, Nitride, Carbide. Durch Zugabe von z. B. Sauerstoff oder Stickstoff zur Sputteratmosphäre können auch mithilfe elementarer Targets dünne Schichten aus Verbindungen abgeschieden werden, was als reaktives Sputtern bezeichnet wird.